Top 10 Indian Cricketing Moments

India Team Cricketing Moments
India Team Cricketing Moments
India gained independence 75 years ago. After seven and a half decades of ups and downs, India cricket Team has only improved

India gained independence 75 years ago. After seven and a half decades of ups and downs, India cricket Team has only improved. Every sport developed, and we saw history being made, most recently at the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham, when India came fourth and won 61 medals, including 22 golds. Despite being weak in shooting, they won the CWG 2022. India is not a sports superpower like the US or China, but they are rising in the ranks. India won seven medals at the Tokyo Olympics last year, their most ever.

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup

The Indian badminton team won the Thomas Cup, and Neeraj Chopra won India’s first Olympic gold in athletics. Indian cricket has also grown and reached amazing heights.

India’s first back-to-back foreign Test series wins in West Indies and England—1971:

India’s finest cricketing moment until 1983 was this. It remains India’s most significant test cricket event. India’s 38-year road to No. 1 Test team began with victories over West Indies and England. First, Ajit Wadekar’s squad upset Sir Gary Sobers’ West Indies 1-0 in their own backyard in a five-match Caribbean series. In a three-match Test series, they defeated Ray Illingworth’s Ashes-winning England 1-0.

After their brave efforts in the Caribbean, India won their first Test series in England by chasing down 170+ in the fourth innings after Bhagawat Chandrasekar bowled England out for 101 in the second innings of the third Test at the Oval.

India’s first World Cup win- 1983:

India’s first World Cup win was difficult and marked a new era in Indian cricket. Kapil Dev’s devils overcame the West Indies by 43 runs to win the 1983 Prudential World Cup at Lords. After Kapil Dev’s 175 against Zimbabwe, India won the championship.

They defeated Australia in their final league game to proceed to the semi-finals, where they upset favorite England, and then they defeated the great and powerful, all-conquering West Indies in the championship match to usher in the finest success in Indian cricket.

India’s mini world cup win- 1985:

India competed in the “Mini-World Cup” in Australia two years after winning the 1983 World Cup. India, Australia, England, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies competed in the 1985 World Cup. The team India lost a home series against England before the competition, therefore few expected them to win. Despite their courageous triumph over West Indies in the 1983 World Cup finals, the Indian team was one of the underdogs to win the competition because they had lost three straight series before arriving in Australia.

Gavaskar’s leadership and India’s outstanding play against all the major teams helped them win. India memorably defeated archrivals Pakistan by 8 wickets in the final.

India’s victory over unbeatable Australia in the 2001 Test series:

India won a remarkable Test match under Sourav Ganguly at Eden Gardens in Kolkata in March 2001. Australia, under the mystical leadership of Steve Waugh, was dominant both at home and away and had a 15-match winning streak, which they extended to 16 by winning the first Test against India. The match-fixing issue was still affecting Indian cricket. After following on at Kolkata, Sourav Ganguly’s team showed great tenacity, while the Australians were poised to outmanoeuvre India after crushing them in the first test.

Wall Dravid’s 180 and VVS Laxman’s 281—India’s biggest test inning—turned the series. India won the series 2-1 after beating all odds in Kolkata and Chennai in a nail-biting conclusion.

2007 saw India win its first-ever T20I World Cup:

When the first 20-over World Cup was staged in South Africa, T20I cricket was gaining popularity. India, backed by rookie skipper MS Dhoni, astonished everyone by winning the tournament by 5 runs against archrival Pakistan. India won the final toss and batted. Gautam Gambhir led the team to 157/5 in the first innings with 75 runs. Pakistan lost wickets frequently and never gained momentum. Misbah-ul-Haq batted in the middle order.

Pakistan needed 13 runs in the last over with one wicket. Dhoni substituted Joginder Sharma for the final over. Sreesanth took the game’s final catch as India made history, despite Misbah’s scoop shot over the short fine leg.

India won ICC Test Team Rankings No. 1 in 2009:

India initially topped the ICC Test rankings for teams introduced in June 2003 on December 6, 2009. The team India initially topped the ICC Test rankings for teams introduced in June 2003 on December 6, 2009. MS Dhoni’s India won their fourth straight series with an innings triumph over Sri Lanka at Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium to rank first. They maintained the position until 2011, when England dethroned them, but reclaimed it in 2016.

In 2021, India was again trying to become the No. 1 team under previous captain Virat Kohli, but they lost to New Zealand in the first-ever World Test Championship final.

India’s 2nd World cup win- 2011:

In 2011, India broke the curse by defeating a strong Sri Lankan team in the ODI World Cup finals in Mumbai. MS Dhoni led India to another ICC title. India lost Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag fast while chasing 275 runs to win the cup. Before Kohli left, Gambhir and Gambhir exchanged 83 runs. Dhoni joined Gambhir in chasing.

After a record 109-run stand, Gambhir was dismissed three runs short of a well-deserved century. Yuvraj Singh came out, but the skipper scored massive runs and ended the chase. India won the World Cup when Dhoni smashed a massive six to end the pursuit.

India’s Champions Trophy win- 2013:

In 2013, India defeated England to win the champions trophy, making MS Dhoni the only captain to win all three ICC Trophies. India trounced South Africa in the tournament opener and kept improving, defeating England in the decider. Which was shortened to 20 overs owing to rain. India won a dramatic game by five runs after batting first and scored 129. England appeared to easily reach the goal, but the English batsmen had no answers to India’s bowling onslaught.

England needed 14 runs off the final six deliveries to win. The final ball added pressure. Ashwin and Treadwell battled to decide the game. England needed six from the final delivery. Treadwell missed, Ashwin kept calm, and India won.

India wins their first Test series in Australia in history (2018–19):

The Indian team won a Test series in Australia under Virat Kohli’s leadership, making history. India won the series 2-1 in the final two Tests in Australia thanks to aggressive Indian bowling and experienced Cheteswar Pujara’s batting.

In a four-match series, India won the first and third matches but lost the second. With a 2-1 advantage, India won the trophy after the fourth game at the Sydney Cricket Ground finished in a draw.

India’s stunning 2-1 Test series win in Australia with an injury-plagued team-2020-21:

A surprising Test series win in Australia. A surprising Test series win in Australia. After being all-out for 36 in the first Test, losing their captain Virat Kohli to paternity leave, and losing their best bowlers, India was facing death. However, India levelled the series at the MCG, escaped a last-day scare at the SCG, and then triumphed at the Gabba to win the series against a full-strength Australian side.

This was made possible by vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane’s calmness and some great cricket by rookies like Mohammad Siraj, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, and others who took responsibility. Cricket fans will never forget the win. The four-match series was unique enough to warrant a documentary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like