Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians became the first team to win the Indian Premier League four times. Since 2013, the team has won the IPL every other year—2015, 2017, and 2019. MI is the IPL 2021 champion after defeating Delhi Capitals in a thrilling encounter in 2020.

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News onT20 World Cup

Mumbai Indians, one of the oldest Indian Premier League teams, has played since 2008. MI became the first IPL team to reach $100 million in brand value in 2027. The IPL franchise has the highest brand value (809 crore INR or 115 million USD). For five years, MI has enjoyed the highest brand value. Mumbai Indians’ captain and leading run-scorer are Rohit Sharma, while Lasith Malinga leads in wickets. MI’s coach since the 2017 IPL is Mahela Jayawardene. Sachin Tendulkar mentors Robin Singh, the team’s batting coach. Shane Bond coaches MI bowling.

Mumbai Indians in Semifinal of IPL T20 – 6 times

Mumbai Indians in Final of IPL T20 – 5 times

Vivo MI Team Squad List for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2021

  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • Aditya Tare
  • Anmolpreet Singh
  • Chris Lynn
  • Dhawal Kulkarni
  • Anukul Roy
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Jayant Yadav
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Ishan Kishan
  • Krunal Pandya
  • Mohsin Khan
  • Quinton de Kock
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Saurabh Tiwary
  • Trent Boult
  • Suryakumar Yadav

MI Previous Year’s Performances

IPL 2008:

The Mumbai team struggled in the inaugural IPL season and missed the Playoffs. They won 7 of 14 games and ended 5th on the points standings. Harbhajan Singh took over as captain after Sachin Tendulkar was injured in the 2008 season. Singh was suspended for slapping Kings XI Punjab’s Sreesanth. Shaun Pollock became a captain in his absence and led MI to six consecutive wins. Tendulkar returned as captain but failed to reach the playoffs.

IPL 2009:

Mumbai Indians won only 5 of 14 matches in the 2009 IPL. Playoffs were eliminated after the team finished 7th in the points table. Tendulkar, Duminy, and Malinga sought to keep opportunities open for MI, but a lack of contributions from other players dropped the club in the position of the point.

IPL 2010:

Mumbai Indians eventually reached the semi-finals and final in the 3rd IPL season. The squad bought Trinidad all-rounder Kieron Pollard for the 2010 IPL. Mumbai Indians won 7 of their first 8 matches in the 3rd IPL to top the points table. Kieron Pollard’s batting and bowling helped the squad upset Royal Challengers Bangalore in the semi-finals and final. The last match was lost to Chennai Super Kings. MI played at Brabourne Stadium in the 2010 IPL due to Wankhede Stadium repairs.

IPL 2011:

Rohit Sharma, Andrew Symonds, and Munaf Patel joined Mumbai Indians for the 2011 IPL. The team won 8 of its first 10 matches and finished 3rd on the points table. They overcame Kolkata Knight Riders in the Eliminator Round but lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Qualifying Final. MI pacers Munaf Patel and Lasith Malinga led the 2011 IPL wicket-takers.

IPL 2012:

Mumbai Indians captain Harbhajan Singh replaced Tendulkar in the 5th IPL when Tendulkar abruptly resigned. Harbhajan led the team to 4 wins and 4 losses, including 3 at home. Tendulkar’s prime-time injury cost the club four matches. Harbhajan and his boys finished 3rd in the points standings, qualifying for the playoffs. In the Eliminator round, Mumbai Indians lost to Chennai Super Kings because of too quick wickets.

IPL 2013:

The Mumbai Indians won their first IPL title in 2013. Anil Kumble’s mentorship and Rohit Sharma’s captaincy were key to the team’s success. Due to poor batting, Ricky Ponting was replaced as captain by Sharma. Of course, Sachin Tendulkar and Jonty Rhodes advised the team.

Mumbai Indians lost their first match of 2013 but bounced back in the second. Kieron Pollard, Dinesh Karthik, and Rohit Sharma helped the team reach the Playoffs and the final. Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings to win the 6th IPL.

IPL 2014:

Defending champions struggled in 2014. They lost their first 5 UAE matches. However, the team performed well in India. Mumbai Indians overcame Rajasthan Royals in a close encounter to qualify for the playoffs despite a bad start. The Eliminator match vs Chennai Super Kings ended their 7th season in the Indian Premier League.

IPL 2015:

Mumbai Indians won their 2nd IPL in 2015. Mumbai lost the first four matches of the 8th IPL. MI’s poor bowling contributed to the losses. The squad also lost two great players, Corey Anderson and Aaron Finch, to injuries. With his strong batting, Lendl Simmons helped the squad reach the playoffs. Simmons was supported by Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, and Rohit Sharma. They defeated Chennai Super Kings to win their second IPL title.

IPL 2016:

The 2016 IPL champions Mumbai Indians struggled in the 9th edition. They won 7 of 14 matches but finished 5th on the points standings, eliminating their playoff aspirations.

IPL 2017:

Mumbai Indians won their 3rd IPL title in 2017. The team started the 2017 IPL well, winning 10 of 14 matches and topping the points table. They overcame Rising Pune Supergiant to win their 3rd IPL title. The Mumbai-Pune final is the best IPL match ever. MI won the 2017 IPL.

IPL 2018:

The reigning champions struggled in the 11th IPL. Mumbai Indians won 6 of 14 matches. They missed the playoffs after finishing 5th in points.

IPL 2019:

In the 12th Indian Premier League, Mumbai regained its glory. MI became the first team to win the IPL four times in the last season. The triumph put the team among the most successful IPL teams ever. Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Giants in a thrilling final. Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya won “Harrier Super Striker of the Match” on three and two occasions, respectively, for MI. In addition, debutant Alzzari Joseph set an Indian Premier League bowling record.

IPL 2020:

IPL 2020 Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma. MI have traditionally dominated IPL. Each game is a learning experience for this club, and management and players have focused on improving performance. This consistency won it several trophies, including the 2020 crown, which seven other teams also coveted. Every player helped MI win IPL 2020. Middle-order batsmen Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan helped MI in IPL 2020. Both batsmen batted consistently and supported the team under pressure. Ishan Kishan led Mumbai’s IPL 2020 run-scoring. Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult bowled for Mumbai. James Pattinson replaced Lasith Malinga and pleased everyone. MI finished first in the league and defeated Delhi Capitals in the finals. Trent Boult was MI’s finals MVP.

Mumbai Indians Team Owner:

Reliance Industries owns Mumbai Indians. Reliance Industries 100% subsidiary IndiaWin Sports controls the Mumbai IPL squad.

Mumbai Indian’s official home venue:

Mumbai Indians call Wankhede Stadium home. The 33,108-seat stadium has hosted multiple top-tier cricket matches. Mumbai Cricket Association owns the S. Wankhede Stadium, named after the former BCCI President. The team played its first two IPL seasons in Navi Mumbai’s DY Patil Stadium. Since Wankhede was being renovated, MI’s home ground was Brabourne Stadium in the 3rd IPL. From