IPL Velocity is a team of Indian women who play cricket. They were made in 2019 to take part in the Women’s T20 Challenge. Deepti Sharma is their captain. They have been to the finals of the competition twice, in 2019 and 2022, but have lost both times.

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup



Velocity was started in 2019 as part of the Women’s T20 Challenge’s plan to grow. The Women’s T20 Challenge had started in 2018. Mithali Raj was going to lead them, and Hayley Matthews, Danni Wyatt, and Amelia Kerr were going to play for them from other countries. Velocity beat Trailblazers by 3 wickets in their first match. Wyatt scored 46 runs, which was the most, and Ekta Bisht and Amelia Kerr each took two wickets. In their second game, Velocity lost to Supernovas by 12 runs, even though Wyatt scored 43 and Mithali Raj scored 40*.

Even though they came in second on Net Run Rate, Velocity still made it to the final. They played Supernovas again. This time, they batted first and scored 121/6, mostly because Sushma Verma (40*) and Amelia Kerr worked together to score 71 runs (36). Harmanpreet Kaur, captain of the Supernovas, scored 50 runs to bring them close, and Velocity lost when Radha Yadav hit the last ball over the boundary.


The COVID-19 pandemic caused the 2020 Women’s T20 Challenge to be put off, and it didn’t start until November. In their first game, Velocity beat Supernovas by 5 wickets with one ball left. Sune Luus scored 37*, which was the most, and Ekta Bisht took 3/22 with the ball. In their second game, though, against Trailblazers, Velocity lost by 9 wickets after being bowled out for 47 runs. Sophie Ecclestone of Trailblazers took 4/9 of their bowlers. Because of the damage to their Net Run Rate, Velocity didn’t make it to the final and came in last in their group.


In May 2022, the 2022 Women’s T20 Challenge took place. Deepti Sharma took over as captain of the team from Mithali Raj. In their first game of the tournament, Velocity beat Supernovas. Shafali Verma and Laura Wolvaardt each scored a half-century. They lost their second game against Trailblazers, but they were able to keep the damage to their Net Run Rate to a minimum so that they could still make it to the final. They had to fight Supernovas in the final. Even though Wolvaardt scored 65*, Velocity lost by four runs when they tried to beat 166.

Current squad:

No.NameNationalityBirth dateBatting styleBowling styleNotes
17Shafali Verma  India28 January 2004 (age 18)Right-handedRight-arm off break
Natthakan Chantam  Thailand1 January 1996 (age 26)Right-handedRight-arm mediumOverseas player
Kiran Navgire IndiaUnknownRight-handedUnknown
Shivali Shinde India23 June 1996 (age 26)Right-handed
Laura Wolvaardt  South Africa26 April 1999 (age 23)Right-handedRight-arm mediumOverseas player
6Deepti Sharma  India24 August 1997 (age 25)Left-handedRight-arm off breakClub captain
Sneh Rana  India18 February 1994 (age 28)Right-handedRight-arm off break
Yastika Bhatia  India1 November 2000 (age 22)Left-handedSlow left-arm orthodox
Simran Bahadur India13 December 1999 (age 23)Left-handedRight-arm medium
Pranavi Chandra IndiaUnknownUnknownUnknown
Kate Cross  England3 October 1991 (age 31)Right-handedRight-arm medium-fastOverseas player
Keerthi James India17 January 1997 (age 25)Right-handedRight-arm off break
Aarti Kedar IndiaUnknownUnknownUnknown
Ayabonga Khaka  South Africa18 July 1992 (age 30)Right-handedRight-arm mediumOverseas player
Maya Sonawane India30 March 1999 (age 23)Right-handedRight-arm leg break
Radha Yadav  India21 April 2000 (age 22)Right-handedSlow left-arm orthodox

T20 Women’s Challenge

SeasonFinal standingLeague standingsNotes
2019Runners-up211002+0.0452ndLost to IPL Supernovas in the final
2020Group stage211002−1.8693rd
2022Runners-up211002-0.0222ndLost to IPL Supernovas in the final

T20 Women’s Challenge:

YearPlayedWinsLossesTiedNRWin %