IPL Supernovas is a cricket team from India. They were made in 2018 to play in the Women’s T20 Challenge. Harmanpreet Kaur is their captain. They have won the T20 Challenge three times, in 2018, 2019, and 2022. This makes them the most successful team.

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup



In 2018, Supernovas came together to play in the first Women’s T20 Challenge. In that competition, they played a single match against Trailblazers. The game was seen as a response to the men’s Indian Premier League, and it was hoped that the one-off game would lead to a full-fledged tournament in the future. Harmanpreet Kaur, an Indian batter, was chosen to be the team’s captain. Mithali Raj and Veda Krishnamurthy are also from India, and Danni Wyatt, Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning, and Megan Schutt are from other countries.

On May 22, 2018, the Supernovas won the toss and chose to bat first in the game. The Trailblazers could only score 129 runs, and Schutt and Perry, who each took two wickets, were the best bowlers. Mithali Raj, Wyatt, and Harmanpreet Kaur helped the Supernovas get close, and Perry hit the winning runs on the last ball of a tense game. The Supernovas won the first Women’s T20 Challenge, so they were named the winners.


With the addition of Velocity in 2019, the tournament now has three teams. In the group stage, each team played each other once. The top two teams from each group moved on to the final. In the first game, which was a rematch of last year’s final between the Supernovas and the Trailblazers, the Supernovas lost by 2 runs after the Trailblazers’ opener, Smriti Mandhana, scored 90 off of 67 balls. In their second game, however, Supernovas beat Velocity with 142/3 thanks to 77 from Jemimah Rodrigues. Then, Poonam Yadav’s (4/13) tight bowling helped Supernovas win by 12 runs, sending them to the final.

In the final, they went up against Velocity once more. Velocity batted first and got a score of 121/6. Lea Tahuhu of the Supernovas took 2/21 in 4 overs, including a wicket maiden. Then, Harmanpreet Kaur’s 51 runs set up a win for the Supernovas. Again, Radha Yadav hit a four off the last ball of the match to give the Supernovas the win.


The COVID-19 pandemic caused the 2020 Women’s T20 Challenge to be put off, and it didn’t start until November.  Their first game was against Velocity, and they lost by 5 wickets with one ball left. Chamari Atapattu, an international player who just joined Supernovas, scored 44 runs. In their second game, Atapattu was again the best player. He hit 67 runs and helped his team get 146 runs when they batted first. Then, Radha Yadav defended 9 off the last over to get her team to the final.

In the final, Supernovas played against Trailblazers again. Trailblazers batted first and scored 118/8 in their 20 overs. But the Supernovas had a hard time catching up, and they lost by 16 runs.


In May 2022, the 2022 Women’s T20 Challenge took place. The first game of the tournament was between Supernovas and Trailblazers. Supernovas beat Trailblazers by 49 runs, and Pooja Vastrakar took 4/12 in her four overs. They lost their second game by 7 wickets to Velocity, but they still made it to the final because of their Net Run Rate. In the final, they played Velocity again. When they batted first, they got 165/7, and Deandra Dottin scored 62 from 44 balls. Then, they held Velocity to 1618 runs, which was enough for them to win their third T20 Challenge title.

Current team:

No.NameNationalityBirth dateBatting styleBowling styleNotes
4Priya Punia  India6 August 1996 (age 26)Right-handedRight-arm medium
Muskan Malik India8 October 2002 (age 20)Right-handedRight-arm medium
7Harmanpreet Kaur  India8 March 1989 (age 33)Right-handedRight-arm off breakClub captain
21Harleen Deol  India21 June 1998 (age 24)Right-handedRight-arm leg break
5Deandra Dottin  West Indies21 June 1991 (age 31)Right-handedRight-arm mediumOverseas player
96Suné Luus  South Africa5 January 1996 (age 26)Right-handedRight-arm leg breakOverseas player
Ayushi Soni India30 September 2000 (age 22)Right-handedRight-arm medium
9Taniya Bhatia  India28 November 1997 (age 25)Right-handed
11Pooja Vastrakar  India25 September 1999 (age 23)Right-handedRight-arm medium
Sophie Ecclestone  England6 May 1999 (age 23)Right-handedSlow left-arm orthodoxOverseas player
Mansi Joshi  India18 August 1993 (age 29)Right-handedRight-arm medium-fast
Rashi Kanojiya India20 August 1998 (age 24)Right-handedLeft-arm medium
Alana King  Australia22 November 1995 (age 27)Right-handedRight-arm leg breakOverseas player
Monica Patel  India26 April 1999 (age 23)Left-handedLeft-arm medium
Meghna Singh  India18 June 1994 (age 28)Right-handedRight-arm medium
Chandu Venkateshappa IndiaUnknownUnknownUnknown

Women’s T20 Challenge:

SeasonFinal standingLeague standingsNotes
2018ChampionsNo Group stageWon against IPL Trailblazers in the final
2019Champions211002+0.2501stWon against IPL Velocity in the final
2020Runners-up211002−0.0542ndLost to IPL Trailblazers in the final
2022Champions211002+0.9121stWon against IPL Velocity in the final