One Day International Cricket

One Day International Cricket
One Day International Cricket
A One Day International Cricket (ODI) is a form of limited overs cricket played between two international teams over 50 overs

A One Day International Cricket (ODI) is a form of limited overs cricket played between two international teams over 50 overs for up to 9 hours. This format is used for the four-year Cricket World Cup. Limited Overs Internationals (LOI) may refer to Twenty20 International matches as well as One Day Internationals. They are the top List A limited-overs matches. Late-20th-century development: the international one-day game. Australia and England played the first ODI at Melbourne Cricket Ground on 5 January 1971. After the first three days of the third Test were rained off, officials opted to play a one-day contest of 40 eight-ball overs each side. Australia won 5 wickets. ODIs used red balls and white uniforms.

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup


In the late 1970s, Kerry Packer founded the rival World Series Cricket competition, which introduced many of the features of One Day International cricket that are now standard, including colored uniforms, matches played at night under floodlights with a white ball and dark sight screens, multiple camera angles, effects microphones to capture player sounds, and on-screen graphics. The first match with colorful outfits was the WSC Australians in wattle gold versus WSC West Indians in coral pink at VFL Park in Melbourne on 17 January 1979. This led to Packer’s Channel 9 gaining the TV rights to cricket in Australia and to players globally being paid to play and becoming international professionals without needing other occupations. ODIs no longer used white flannels and red balls after 2001.

Australian fielding limitations began in 1980–81. By 1992, two fielders were allowed outside the circle for the first fifteen overs and five for the rest. In 2005, this was trimmed to ten overs and two five-over power plays were introduced, with the bowling and batting teams having control over one-one timing. The batting team controlled one power play in 2008. The discretionary power plays were limited to 16–40 overs in 2011 from 11–50 overs. In 2012, the bowling power play was eliminated and the number of fielders outside the 30-yard circle during non-power play overs was lowered from five to four.

Rules of evidence:

The trial rules also included a rule that allowed a replacement player to be brought in at any time during the game. Until he was called up to play, he was known as the 12th man. Before the coin toss, each team chose their replacement player, which is called a “Supersub”. Once a player was taken out, the Supersub could bat, bowl, field, or keep wicket. The player who was taken out became the 12th man. During the six months it was used, it became clear that the SuperSub helped the team that won the coin toss much more than the other team. This made the game less fair.

Late in 2005, a number of international captains came to “gentleman’s agreements” to stop following this rule. They kept naming Supersubs as required, but they didn’t put them on the field like a normal 12th man. The ICC said on February 15, 2006, that they would end the Supersub rule on March 21, 2006. Two balls were used in ODI for two years before they were thrown out.


Most of the time, cricket’s rules apply. In ODIs, on the other hand, each team bats for a set number of overs. In the early days of One-Day International (ODI) cricket, the number of overs was usually 60 per side, but games were also played with 40, 45, or 55 overs per side. Now, the number of overs per side is always 50.

In an ODI, two teams of 11 players each play against each other.

  • The team whose captain wins the toss gets to choose whether to bat or bowl (field) first.
  • The goal score for a single innings is set by the team that bats first. The innings go on until the team batting is “all out,” which means that 10 of the 11 players batting are “out,” or until all of the overs given to the first team are used up.
  • Each bowler can only throw a maximum of 10 overs (less if the game is cut short because of rain, and usually no more than 20% of the total overs per innings). So, each team must have at least five bowlers who are good at what they do (either dedicated bowlers or all-rounders).
  • The team that bats second tries to get more runs than the target score to win the game. In the same way, the team that bowls second tries to get the other team out or use up all of their overs before they reach the goal score.
  • When the second team loses all its wickets or runs out of overs with the same number of runs as the first team, the game is called a tie (regardless of the number of wickets lost by either team).

ODI – eligible teams:

  • Australia (5 January 1971)
  • England (5 January 1971)
  • New Zealand (11 February 1973)
  • Pakistan (11 February 1973)
  • West Indies (5 September 1973)
  • India (13 July 1974)
  • Sri Lanka (13 February 1982)
  • South Africa (10 November 1991)
  • Zimbabwe (25 October 1992)
  • Bangladesh (10 October 1997)
  • Afghanistan (5 December 2017)
  • Ireland (5 December 2017)
ICC Men’s ODI Team Rankings 
1 India445,010114
2 Australia323,572112
3 New Zealand293,229111
4 England323,502109
5 Pakistan252,649106
6 South Africa262,716104
7 Bangladesh333,12995
8 Sri Lanka342,97688
9 Afghanistan201,41971
10 West Indies412,90271
11 Ireland241,20650
12 Scotland311,45947
13 Zimbabwe271,20144
14 Namibia2697137
15 Netherlands2167332
16 Oman3091931
17 United Arab Emirates2569328
18 United States3182126
19   Nepal2845616
20 Papua New Guinea301284
One Day International Cricket
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like