Top 10 Coaches of Indian Cricket Team

India Cricket Team Coach
India Cricket Team Coach
India Cricket Team Coach: India is, without a doubt, one of the best cricket teams. One of the main reasons for this is that the team

India Cricket Team Coach: India is, without a doubt, one of the best cricket teams. One of the main reasons for this is that the team has players who are among the best in the world. India has always sent out some of the best batsmen and bowlers in the game. The likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Anil Kumble, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Mohammad Azharuddin, and many more.

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup

In May 1926, India joined the club as a full member and became a test. After England, Australia, South Africa, the West Indies, and New Zealand, India was the sixth team to join as a full member. When you talk about the history of Indian cricket, the real turning point was in 1983, when Kapil Dev led India to win the World Cup. Then, in 2007 and 2011, India won the T20 World Cup and the ODI World Cup, thanks to MS Dhoni. There have been a lot of times when former Indian players went on to coach the national team. A head coach usually stays in his or her job for two years, but some have stayed for longer. So, let’s look at who has been the head coach of the Indian team over time.

India Cricket Team Coach

4. From 1983 to 1987, PR Man Singh:

When India beat the West Indies in the finals of the ODI World Cup in 1983, they made history. That was the most famous moment in the history of Indian cricket. Few people thought that India would even finish in the top four. The rest, however, is history. It was a total team effort, and every player worked hard. But PR Man Singh, who was India’s coach, was never given much praise. During the 1983 World Cup, he was the manager of the Indian team. India made it to the semi-finals of the 1987 World Cup, and Man Singh was their coach.

3. Between 2007 and 2008, Lalchand Rajput:

Sourav Ganguly led India to the finals of the ODI World Cup in 2003, and John Wright was the team’s head coach. But at the next ODI World Cup, in 2007, India was kicked out of the tournament before it even got to the group stage. Greg Chappell was the head coach, and Rahul Dravid was the captain. So, India sent an all-young team led by MS Dhoni to the 2007 T20 World Cup. As the head coach, Lalchand Rajput went with the team. But who would have thought that team would change the course of history? India won the T20 World Cup, and MS Dhoni and Lalchand Rajput became two of the most successful captains and head coaches in Indian cricket.

2. From 2008 until 2011, Gary Kirsten:

Gary Kirsten, who used to be the captain of South Africa, took over as the head coach of the Indian team after Lalchand Rajput. India couldn’t defend the T20 title in 2009, which was his biggest challenge. The 2011 ODI World Cup was the next big event in the game. It was held in India. So it was a great chance for MS Dhoni and the Indian cricket team to become famous at home. This is what happened. India won the World Cup in 2011, making them the first team to do so on their home turf. With this win, Gary Kirsten solidified his reputation as India’s best coach.

1. From 2017 through 2021, Ravi Shastri:

Virat Kohli was one of the most aggressive captains ever. Under his leadership, the Indian cricket team did many things that weren’t possible before. Ravi Shastri, the head coach at the time, was one of the reasons he was able to say what he wanted. When it came to the game, Shastri was always a lively character, both as a player and as a captain. He and Virat completely changed how the Indian team thought. Anil Kumble resigned as head coach in 2017, and Shastri took over. Since then, India has seen many amazing performances. Even though India didn’t win any major ICC tournaments while Shastri was coaching them. They were the best test team for six years straight. Shastri gave up his position after the 2021 Twenty20 World Cup.

Coaches of the Indian National Cricket Team:

No.Head CoachContract StartedContract EndedCountry
1Keki Tarapore19711971India
2Hemu Adhikari19711974India
3Gulabrai Ramchand19751975India
4Datta Gaekwad19781978India
5Salim Durrani19801981India
6Ashok Mankad19821982India
7PR Man Singh19831987India
8Chandu Borde19881989India
9Bishen Singh Bedi19901991India
10Ashok Mankad19911991India
11Abbas Ali Baig19911992India
12Ajit Wadekar19921996India
13Sandeep Patil19961996India
14Madan Lal19961997India
15Anshuman Gaekwad19971999India
16Kapil Dev19992000India
17John Wright20002005New Zealand
18Greg Chappell20052007Australia
19Ravi Shastri
(Interim Ban tour)
20Chandu Borde
(Interim Eng Tour)
21Lalchand Rajput20072008India
22Gary Kirsten20082011South Africa
23Duncan Fletcher20112015Zimbabwe
24Ravi Shastri20152016India
25Sanjay Bangar (Interim)20162016India
26Anil Kumble20162017India
27Ravi Shastri20172021India
28Rahul Dravid
(Interim 2nd team SL tour)
29Rahul Dravid20212023India
30VVS Laxman
(Interim IRE, ENG, ZIM Tour)
India Cricket Team Coach
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like