Records Made in WPL 2023

Records Made in WPL 2023
Records Made in WPL 2023
Records Made in WPL 2023: The Women’s Premier League (WPL), which is a Twenty20 cricket franchise league for women in India

Records Made in WPL 2023: The Women’s Premier League (WPL), which is a Twenty20 cricket franchise league for women in India, is also called the TATA WPL because it is sponsored by TATA. It is owned by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, which also runs it (BCCI).

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup

Five franchises are playing in the first season, which is being held in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai.

1. GG vs MI:

Last night at the Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy, WPL 2023 began in style. Mumbai Indians defeated Gujarat Giants in the Women’s Premier League opener. Harmanpreet Kaur guided MI to a 140-run triumph over GG as captain. Mumbai Indians lead the WPL 2023 points table after winning. They have two points after one match. After their magnificent win over Gujarat Giants, MI’s net run rate is +7.150.

Gujarat captain Beth Mooney chose to bowl. After the toss, her squad had no luck. Bowlers conceded over 200 runs in 20 overs. GG lost wickets frequently and scored 64 runs while chasing 208 to win. In the second innings, Ahmedabad captain Beth Mooney was injured while batting. Although a disappointing night for the Gujarat Giants, the first WPL 2023 shattered several records. Last night’s top three records were broken.

3 records were broken in the GG vs. MI game:

1. Mumbai Indians broke Wellington Women’s record in T20 cricket:

Captain Harmanpreet Kaur’s half-century helped Mumbai Indians score 207/5 in 20 overs. Hayley Matthews and Nat Sciver-Brunt also helped MI. Gujarat Giants responded with 64 runs.

In the first WPL encounter, MI won by 143 runs, a record for women’s T20 cricket. Wellington Women beat Otago Women 122-runs on January 24, 2021.

2. Saika Ishaque broke Heather Graham’s record in WPL 2023:

The Mumbai Indians’ uncapped slow left-arm spinner Saika Ishaque wowed the Gujarat Giants batters. Saika finished with four wickets. She took 4/11 in 3.1 overs.

Saika’s spell set a new Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy women’s match bowling record. Heather Graham’s 3/22 against India Women in a T20I on this field last year set the record.

3 Mumbai Indians broke India Women’s record:

At the Dr. DY Patil Sports Academy, the Mumbai Indians set a T20 team record. MI’s 207/5 broke India Women’s 187/5 record on this ground.

The Gujarat Giants also broke India Women’s T20 record for lowest team total at this venue. The Giants’ 64 runs beat India Women’s 172/5; the lowest team total in Navi Mumbai.

Mumbai Indians will rest before facing Royal Challengers Bangalore on Monday. Gujarat faces UP Warriorz in WPL 2023 tomorrow night.

2.RCB vs DC:

Two foundation IPL franchises, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Delhi Capitals (DC), debut in WPL 2023 Match 2. The inaugural season doubleheader will be played at Brabourne Stadium on Sunday, March 5. Meg Lanning will captain DC, while Smriti Mandhana will lead RCB.

Both sides have star power, setting the atmosphere for a blockbuster day in Mumbai. In this WPL 2023 match, records may be broken.

3 Records that could be broken in the WPL 2023 game:

1. First century of the WPL:

WPL 2023 has only had one game. History suggests that the Brabourne Stadium may host the league’s first century. After all, the track is a batter’s dream, and with short boundary dimensions, it’s the perfect place to get in and make it count. RCB and DC have lots of superstar batsmen.

From Capitals Shafali Verma and Jemimah Rodrigues to Challengers Mandhana and Sophie Devine. Who’s to say Sunday won’t witness the league’s first century?

2. Sophie Devine will play 175 league games, a record:

Sophie Devine, White Ferns captain, is a gamer. She will debut in WPL 2023 for RCB against DC on Sunday after playing in T20 tournaments worldwide. Devine is the most-capped women’s T20 player worldwide. She is the only player to score over 5000 runs in all women’s T20 competitions.

She will become the first woman to play 175 T20 league games on Sunday.

3. Dane van Niekerk might become the third South African to score 2000 runs in women’s T20 competitions:

Former captain Dane van Niekerk will want to make a statement in WPL 2023 after her contentious removal from South Africa’s Women’s T20 World Cup squad. She could debut on Sunday with a milestone. Van Niekerk needs 34 runs to reach 2000 T20 runs worldwide.

Only two South African women—Mignon du Preez and Lizelle Lee—have accomplished that milestone. Van Niekerk might join this list if she plays against DC for RCB.

3. UPW vs GG:

The third WPL 2023 match is history. UP Warriorz defeated Gujarat Giants in a dramatic WPL 2023 opener at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. Gujarat Giants won the toss and batted first. The Ahmedabad franchise batted better than against the Mumbai Indians and scored 169 runs. Gujarat Giants all-rounder Harleen Deol scored 46.

UP Warriorz crumbled to 105/7 chasing 170 for their WPL 2023 debut. The Lucknow franchise came back from a three-wicket deficit to defeat the Gujarat Giants. Grace Harris’ 26-ball 59 wowed. She helped the UP Warriorz win with seven fours and three sixes. WPL 2023’s Gujarat Giants-UP Warriorz match shattered several records. Three records are listed here.

3 records were broken throughout the exciting competition:

1. Gujarat Giants created a unique record in WPL 2023:

Gujarat Giants are the first WPL team to have two captains. Beth Mooney captained Ahmedabad’s maiden match against the Mumbai Indians two nights ago. Mooney retired injured after batting against MI. She did not bat again and was eliminated from the UP Warriorz contest.

Mooney’s replacement was Sneh Rana. Hence, the Giants played two matches under two women in 24 hours.

2. Kim Garth broke Saika Ishaque’s record in WPL 2023:

Kim Garth, a last-minute Gujarat Giants addition, took a five-wicket haul. Garth opened for the Giants and bowled 5/36. Alyssa Healy, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Prabhu Navgire, Tahlia McGrath, and Simran Shaikh were her victims. Garth’s five-wicket haul set the DY Patil Stadium record for women’s T20 matches.

Saika Ishaque’s 4/11 against the Gujarat Giants on March 4 was MI’s record.

3. Grace Harris and Sophie Ecclestone surpassed Thea Brookes and Paige Scholfield:

Grace Harris and Sophie Ecclestone put together 70 runs for the eighth wicket in the game against the Gujarat Giants. This was enough to win the game. The two women on the UP Warriorz now hold the record for the highest eighth-wicket partnership in the history of women’s T20 franchise cricket.

Paige Scholfield and Thea Brookes used to be at the top of the list. In a 2016 Women’s Cricket Super League game between Lightning and Thunder, they worked together to score 69 runs for Lightning. They are no longer number one because Harris and Ecclestone have taken their place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like