Top 5 IPL Records that are impossible to break

Unbreakable IPL Records: The Indian Premier League was founded in 2008 and has already seen 15 glorious editions. Over the past decade, the journey has been nothing short of a roller coaster ride and has given fans plenty to celebrate. One of the most lucrative T20 tournaments in the world is the Indian T20 carnival. What makes it so humongous? Is it the money, the presence of the most sought-after names in the world, or something else?

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup

While all of these factors contribute to IPL’s popularity, something, in particular, makes the event such a fascinating spectacle. This is the kind of records it has witnessed over the years and the names associated with them. There are some that aren’t just difficult, they’re impossible. What are these? Now let’s crack it!

5 Unbreakable records in the history of IPL:

1. Chris Gayle 175* versus Pune Warriors India

Known as one of the most successful T20 players in history, Chris Gayle scored the highest individual score in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). With 175, the maestro smashed the ball all over the park against the now-defunct Pune Warriors of India. After 20 overs, Royal Challengers Bangalore posted 263 runs on board thanks to his blazing knock, which included 13 fours and 17 sixes.

2. Kolkata Knight Riders have a 10-match unbeaten record

The Kolkata Knight Riders have an unbeaten 10-match record in the IPL. Gautam Gamhir led the third-most successful franchise in IPL 2014 to win nine matches and their first game in 2015. The Purple and Yellow Brigade won their second title in 2014 based on their winning record.

3. Virat Kohli has 973 runs in a single calendar year

Virat Kohli, the ‘King’ of Indian cricket, smashed 973 runs from 16 games in the ninth edition of the marquee tournament. Throughout the season, he looked flawless and hit four centuries, which is the most ever by a cricketer in the tournament. On the night of the finals, Royal Challengers Bangalore lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad after he led the team to the finals.

4. Chris Gayle and Ravindra Jadeja scored 37 in an over

37 in an over isn’t just insane, it’s historic. In the Indian Premier League, Chris Gayle and Ravindra Jadeja made it happen. The Southpaw smashed Prashanth Parameswaran for 37 runs in an over against Kochi Tuskers Kerala in 2011. In 2011, Gayle remained unsold in the IPL auction, but he came back with a vengeance, scoring 608 runs in 12 games.

A decade later, Ravindra Jadeja joined Gayle’s elite list. After a poor start for Chennai Super Kings, Jadeja smashed Harshal Patel for 37 runs. The Southpaw scored 62 runs off 28 deliveries in 2021. In the second innings, he also got three wickets.

5. 229 runs partnership between Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers

When Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers played against the Gujarat Lions in 2016, they stole the show. Modern-day maestros disrupted the Lions after struggling in the first over, scoring 229 runs for the second wicket. Former skipper Kohli scored 109 runs, while de Villiers hit 129 off 52 deliveries. Bangalore won by 144 runs thanks to their partnership of 248.