Multan Sultans

Multan Sultans is a Pakistani professional T20 cricket team that plays in the Pakistan Super League PSL. MS have been playing in the tournament since its third season in 2018, and they won PSL 6 as well. They represent the city of Multan and their home ground is Multan Cricket Stadium.

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup

The franchise changed hands many times, from Schon Properties to Alamgir Khan Tareen and Ali Khan Tareen, and then to just Alamgir Khan Tareen. Their management and coaching staff is made up of a lot of former international cricket players. Mushtaq Ahmed is their assistant coach and spin bowling coach. Andy Flower is their head coach. Their first captain was Shoaib Malik, and their current captain is Muhammad Rizwan.

PSL History of Multan Sultans:

PSL 3 2018:

In their first season, Multan lost most of their games and got knocked out in the group stage. For the first season, Shoaib Malik was chosen to be the captain. Wasim Akram was their Director, and Tom Moody was made head coach. Manager of the team was the experienced Nadeem Khan.

In the group stage, they only won four of their ten games, which put them in fifth place with 9 points. One match led to nothing.

PSL 4 2019:

After the first season didn’t go as planned, Multan made some changes to the team and the people in charge. Johan Botha was chosen to be the team’s head coach. Wasim Akram also left and went to play for the Karachi Kings. The team again didn’t make it to the next round, and they were eliminated in the group stage.

Sultans got 6 points, which put them in fifth place in the points table. They only won three of their 10 group games.

PSL 5 2020:

Before season 5 of the Pakistan Super League, there were again a lot of changes. Shan Masood became the team’s captain, and Andy Flower became the Head Coach. Multan Sultans made it to the play-offs for the first time, but they lost their next two games against Karachi Kings and Lahore Qalandars, so they didn’t make it to the finals.

In the group stage, they won six of their ten games and had the most points, which was 14. Two matches led to nothing.

PSL 6 2021:

This was the year that the Sultans would win their first PSL championship. They had a bad start to the season because they lost both of their games to Peshawar Zalmi and Islamabad United. Recently, they got back on track and made it to the play-offs. From there, they made it to the final and won it.

Multan Sultans came in second on the table of points with 10 points because they won 5 of their 10 group stage games. First, they beat Islamabad United in the play-offs to get to the finals. Then, they beat Peshawar Zalmi to win the Pakistan Super League for the first time.

PSL 7 2022:

Since they won the title last season, this was their chance to keep it. They got off to a great start by beating their opponents in almost every group stage game. This season, they only lost to Lahore Qalandars. In the last game, between Sultans and Qalandars, they lost by 42 runs and ended up in second place.

Multan had the most points in the group stage, 18 points, because they won 9 of their 10 games.

Multan Sultans Players 2023:

  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Josh Little
  • David Miller / Izharulhaq Naveed
  • Shan Masood
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Rilee Rossouw
  • Tim David (Reserved)
  • Shahnawaz Dahani
  • Akeal Hosain (Reserved)
  • Usman Khan
  • Usama Mir
  • Sameen Gul
  • Mohammad Sarwar Afridi
  • Anwar Ali
  • Abbas Afridi
  • Ihsanullah

Two players have been chosen by Multan Sultans in the supplemental category:

  • Arafat Minhas
  • Adil Rasheed / Wayne Parnell

Multan Sultans’ Record of Results:

2016Did Not Played
20201163011651/6Playoffs (3rd)
Total55302201254.541 Time