Karachi Kings

In the HBL PSL, the Karachi Kings (KK) play for the Karachities. Salman Iqbal owns the team. He also owns the news station ARY. From 2016 to 2020, KK has played in all 5 seasons of the Pakistan Super League. They won PSL 5 by beating Lahore Qalandars at Karachi National stadium by 5 wickets. KK will be the defending champion in PSL 6 2021.

The KarachiKings team was put together in 2015, and they are one of the top four teams in the HBL PSL 2020. On Saturday, November 14, you can watch KK play against Multan Sultans.

Click Here for IPLT20 Records: IPL T20 RECORDS     Click Here for Official T20 World Cup Site: News on T20 World Cup

History of Karachi Kings:

Salman Iqbal put together this HBL PSL team in 2015. Karachi Kings have made it to the playoff games in all 5 seasons of the Pakistan Super League.

In PSL 2020, the fifth season, KK made it to the final game for the first time, which they also won. KK lost their playoff game in the first HBL PSL, so they were ranked 4/5.

Karachi Kings in PSL 2016:

In PSL 2016, Shoaib Malik was the captain. Karachi Kings played 8 games while he was captain. They lost 6 games and won only 2. KK got to play a playoff match because Lahore Qalandars lost the head-to-head match.

After the matches in the group stage, Shoaib Malik stepped down as captain, and England’s Ravi Bopara took over leading the team from the front. But he also lost his only game as captain of KK.

Karachi Kings in PSL 2017:

The team management chose Kumar Sangakara to be the captain of the team for the second season of the HBL PSL. The team played a total of 10 games while he was captain. KK won 5 of those games and lost 5 of them.

Under Kumar Sangakara’s leadership, the team did very well in the group stage and ended up with the second most points. But they lost both of their playoff games, so they didn’t make it to the final game. At the end of the tournament, they came in third out of the five teams.

Karachi Kings in PSL 2018:

Shahid Afridi, who played for Peshawar Zalmi for the first two seasons, joins KarachiKings in 2018. Imad Wasim is the captain for this edition, and Eion Morgan leads the team for 3 matches. Again, the team did well, but it wasn’t good enough to make it to the final match of the tournament. In the Pakistan Super League in 2018, Karachi King was in the third to sixth place.

PSL 2019’s Karachi Kings:

In the fourth season of the Pakistan Super League, Imad Wasim was again the team’s captain, and Karachi Kings came in third place. Again, they didn’t make it to the final and lost both of their playoff games. Muhammad Amir was also named captain for 1 game when Imad Wasim wasn’t there. That game was lost by KK.

PSL 2020’s Karachi Kings:

In the HBL PSL 2020, the Karachi Kings made it to the playoffs again because they have the second most points. The Coronavirus affected the tournament, and playoff games had to be put on hold.

When it starts up again in November 2020, Karachi-Kings will have won the match against Lahore and made it to the final.

Performance of Karachi King in PSL:

Total54242701244.441 title

Coaching Staff:

Head Coach:Johan Botha
Bowling Coach:Wasim Akram
Batting Coach:Faisal Iqbal
Fielding Coach:Kamran Khan
Media Manager:Faisal Mirza

Team Karachi Kings 2023: Retaining Players

Just recently, the PSL 2023 Draft Retentions were finished, and the Karachi Kings kept players for PSL 8. Information about them is below:

Players NameCategory
Haider AliPlatinum
Imad WasimDiamond
Mohammad AmirDiamond
Shoaib MalikDiamond
Mir HamzaSilver
Sharjeel KhanSilver
Aamer YaminSilver
Qasim AkramEmerging

Karachi Kings Team 2023 – Draft Picks:

Karachi Kings Management has added 12 new players for the PSL 2023 season. Fans are looking forward to PSL 8 a lot.

Here is a list of the new players on the Karachi Kings Team for this year:

Players NameCategory
Haider AliPlatinum
Imran TahirPlatinum
Matthew WadePlatinum
James VinceDiamond
James FullerDiamond
Shoaib MalikDiamond
Andrew TyeGold
Mohammad AkhlaqSilver
Tayyab TahirSilver
Irfan Khan NiaziEmerging
Mohammad UmarSupplementary
Tabraiz ShamsiSupplementary

Karachi Kings Full Squad for PSL 8:

Here is the full list of the Karachi Kings squad for the eighth season of the PSL:


Imad Wasim (C), Haider Ali, Andrew Tye, Mohammad Amir, Imran Tahir, Matthew Wade, Shoaib Malik, Aamer Yamin, James Fuller. James Vince, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Akhlaq, Irfan Khan Niazi, Qasim Akram, Mohammad Umar, Sharjeel Khan. Tayyab Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Ben Cutting, and Musa Khan.